Diplomatic missions



Australia and Oceania


North America

South America

The Interinstitutional Group for the OECD is discussing the Action Plan for Accession to the Organisation.

17 April 2019 Events and Discussions

The third meeting of the permanent Interinstitutional Coordination Mechanism (IMC) for the accession of the Republic of Bulgaria to the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) took place on April 17 at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs. The meeting was chaired by Deputy Foreign Minister Yuri Shterk.

The focus of the discussion was the completion of a draft Action plan of our country in the pre-accession period 2019-2020, which will be presented in the coming days in the OECD. At the meeting the activities of Bulgarian ministries and agencies for accession to legal instruments and working bodies of the Organisation were discussed, as well as participation in joint projects.

In addition to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the Interinstitutional Coordination Mechanism for Accession to the OECD also includes representatives of 15 ministries, as well as the National Statistical Institute, the Nuclear Regulatory Agency and others.

Membership in the OECD is among Bulgaria’s foreign policy priorities, and receiving an invitation to start negotiations is one of the government’s immediate goals.

The Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development was established in 1961 in order to stimulate policies for the greatest possible degree of sustainable economic development, raise the living standards of the population and maintain financial stability. Currently, 37 countries from Europe, North America, South America and Asia are members of the OECD. The European Commission participates in the work of the OECD as an observer.

This site uses cookies. By accepting cookies you can optimise your browsing experience.

Accept Refuse More