Diplomatic missions



Australia and Oceania


North America

South America


Last update 08 February 2024Diplomatic missions

Risk index

Level 3: Increased level of risk (recommendation not to travel in certain areas of the country unless necessary)


Select passport type

Regular passport: visa not required

Diplomatic passport: visa not required

Official passport: visa not required


We call on Bulgarian citizens to refrain from travelling!

Embassy of the Republic of Bulgaria in Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Address: Bulgarian Embassy Building, Olympic Street 8, Khoroo-1, Sukhbaatar District, Ulaanbaatar - 14210, Mongolia
C.P.O. Box 702
Telephone: +976 70140403
Fax: +976 70140405
Out-of-hours hotline: +976 95950697
Working hours: 09:00 – 17:30
Email: [email protected]

The Embassy in Ulaanbaatar does not have an active Consular Office. For consular services, Bulgarian and foreign citizens should contact the Consular Office with the Embassy in Beijing.

Consular Office in Beijing:
Telephone: +86-10-6532 1916; +86-15646588195
Fax: +86-10-6532 4502
Working hours: Monday to Friday from 8:30 to 17:00
Opening hours: Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday from 10:00 to 12:00 and from 14:00 to 17:00
E-mail: [email protected]

Embassy of Mongolia in Sofia, the Republic of Bulgaria
Address: Sofia, 52 Frederic Joliot-Curie St.
Telephone: +359 2 865 90 12
Fax: +359 2 963 07 45
Working hours: 09:00 – 13:00; 14:00 – 18:00  

Honorary Consuls of Mongolia in the Republic of Bulgaria:
mr. Kamen Milkov
Headquarters: Ruse
Consular district: Ruse district
Address: 7000 Ruse, 13 "Pirot" St
Phone: +359 888 238 200
E-mail: [email protected]

mr. Pencho Ivankin
Headquarters: Sofia
Consular district: Blagoevgrad district
Address: 1700 Sofia, 10 "Mogilata" St
Phone: +359 2 862 42 55
Fax: +359 2 862 44 67
E-mail: [email protected]

General information

Security level:
Compared to other countries, the level of crime in Mongolia is not high. Serious crimes are rare.
Foreigners are advised to beware of pickpockets and avoid travelling alone in deserted areas, especially late in the evening and at night.

Hepatitis is the most common of the infectious diseases. Cases of AIDS are rare.

Recommended vaccines and personal hygiene advice:
There are no mandatory vaccination requirements before entering the country.

Specifics of the local legislation:
Foreigners are allowed to work in the country. Starting companies and taking part in business deals is permitted. There only restrictions are for foreigners in the public sector.

Customs requirements:
Goods up to USD 1,000 are not subject to duty. The import of currency with a value of more than USD 1,000 and the export of more than USD 500 shall be declared.
It is allowed to import 1 l of liquor, 2 l of wine and 3 l of beer, 200 pieces of cigarettes, 1 course of medicines, 1 pc of musical equipment. The import of drugs and the means of their production is prohibited.
There are import and export restrictions on: hard liquor - up to 2 liters, donor organs, weapons and explosives, cultural and historical property, narcotic drugs for medical purposes, animal raw materials and samples, chemicals, uranium and the like, for which a special permit is required.

Practical advice:
The retail network is well developed and offers a diverse range of goods and services. Domestic services, telephone connections and the internet network meet international standards.
As of April 2020, postal services with most European countries, including the Republic of Bulgaria, are terminated. DHL can be used for urgent shipments.

Local currency:
The local currency in Mongolia is the tugrug/tugrik.

Climatic characteristics:
The climate is distinctly continental, with a long winter - nearly 5 months. From the end of November to the end of February night temperatures often drop below minus 30-34 degrees Celsius.
There are no areas of increased risk for natural disasters.

Travel papers and visas

As of January 4, 2023, the Government of Mongolia adopted a decision to eliminate the need for visas for citizens of 34 highly developed countries with a stay of 30 days, the decision applies and will be valid for a period of three years from 2023 to 2025.

List of countries exempted from visa requirements for stays of up to 30 days:
1.Republic of Austria
2.Kingdom of Belgium
3.Republic of Hungary
4.Hellenic Republic
5.Kingdom of Denmark
6.Kingdom of Spain
7.The Italian Republic
8.Republic of Latvia
9.Republic of Lithuania
10.The Principality of Liechtenstein
12.Republic of Malta
13.The Netherlands
14.Republic of Poland
17.Republic of Slovenia
18.Republic of Finland
20.Republic of Croatia
21.Czech Republic
22.Kingdom of Sweden
23.Republic of Estonia
24.Kingdom of Norway
26.Swiss Confederation
27.Republic of Bulgaria
28.Republic of Ireland
29.Republic of Cyprus
31.Principality of Monaco
32.United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
34.New Zealand

Practical advice



Competitive service

Certifications and legalizations:
The Republic of Bulgaria and Mongolia are parties to the 1961 Hague Convention Abolishing the Requirement of Legalisation for Foreign Public Documents. Therefore, the documents/deeds drawn up in each of the two countries should bear an Apostille by the respective Ministry of Foreign Affairs, as well as translated and duly authenticated in order to serve before the authorities of the other country.

This site uses cookies. By accepting cookies you can optimise your browsing experience.

Accept Refuse More